Lexington University

Discussion in 'General Distance Learning Discussions' started by John Bear, Feb 2, 2001.

  1. John Bear

    John Bear Senior Member

    While there is a new Lexington listed in Bears' Guide 14, started by the same people in Louisiana who run Columbia University, there is also, it seems, another one, established by one "Robert Gnat" of Mt. Prospect, Illinois. The website, at www.lexingtonuniversity.org, is quite remarkable in several ways.

    * The truly wonderful line, that <<The quiet rural atmosphere of Lexington University is conducive to the contemplative pursuit of knowledge>> -- very impressive for an on-line and quite possibly non-existent university.

    * The statement that on-campus enrollments are filled until the year 2005 (at a cost of $37,450 a year), so you'll just have to do it on-line.

    * The problem when one is juggling too many school names: in the midst of the various Lexington subheadings is one called "On-line tuition at Templeton University." Ooops.

    There is apparently some connection here with the very strange Chapparal Western University, and even with the resurrection of the totally fake Columbia State University, and even the new (to me) Columbia Western University (whose website, www.columbiawestern-univ.org takes one to the new Columbia State site.

    So the 14th edition is behind the times already. Such is life. And there will be an update on the degree.net cite for things like the above, especially as more information flows in.

    John Bear
  2. John Bear

    John Bear Senior Member

    Sorry. Said "Columbia," meant "Columbus" as the school run by the same people who are starting the _other_ Lexington U from Louisiana.
  3. Bruce

    Bruce Moderator Staff Member

    You also gotta love the fact that when you click on "Communication" under "Colleges & Schools", you're taken to the Communications program website of Florida State University.

    The building in the center of the photo montage looks exactly like a ski resort in Maine, I forget the name.
  4. Bill Highsmith

    Bill Highsmith New Member

  5. Bruce

    Bruce Moderator Staff Member

    Bill, if you click on the link provided in John's post, it won't work. There is a comma after "org", which I guess throws everything off. If you click the link below, you'll get to the site.

  6. Bill Highsmith

    Bill Highsmith New Member

    Thanks. I was able to visit the site. None of the links to the departments (from http://www.lexingtonuniversity.org/academics2.html) are implemented, surprising since they have students enrolled through 2005.

    I found the following interesting: "Applicants must be at least 15 years of age and have graduated from an accredited or approved high school with a minimum unweighted grade point average of 4.0 on a 4.0 scale." Gee, one B on physical education and you're out of luck.

    Bill Highsmith
  7. Bruce

    Bruce Moderator Staff Member

    Lexington might be unique in that they try to look like an elite school, in the hopes of attracting students.

    However, I think they got a bit carried away with the tuition.

    Who the hell would pay $3000 per course? I wouldn't pay that for Harvard, never mind a degree mill.

    Bruce Tait
  8. Chip

    Chip Administrator

    Well, amazingly, it's not that far off from more selective schools. Oberlin, for example, is now over $30,000/yr all in (incl books and housing) which equates to about $1000/credit hour ($750 or so without housing, meals and books.)

    *I* wouldn't pay that today, but there are about 1600 students (or, rather, parents of students) paying the exhorbitant tuition (the other 1100 get scholarships and loans and end up paying anywhere from $4,000 to $29,000 per year)

    And most other private top 50 schools are in the same price class.

    Of course, these schools exist. Lexington doesn't.
  9. Frangop

    Frangop New Member

    Guess What Dr J Bear.

    Lexington Uni http://www.lexingtonuniversity.org,/ are off
    the net !!!
    I guess that they must have read your above comments !!!

  10. Bruce

    Bruce Moderator Staff Member

    As I said before, the link provided by John Bear won't work...apparently there is a comma after "org", which screws everything up. Click below, and you'll get there.

    Bruce Tait
  11. mcqueary

    mcqueary New Member

    Well, no, actually you just need to remove the comma after .org and before the trailing slash: http://www.lexingtonuniversity.org/

    Your copy must have picked up the comma in John's original text.

  12. Tom Head

    Tom Head New Member

    Sorry, folks, but I couldn't resist...


    Upper Crust University of East Sussex
    *** A Most Selective Outlet of Highly Exclusive Unaccredited Degrees ***
    Free Consultation
    All Diplomas Insured for $350,000
  13. Jeffrey Levine

    Jeffrey Levine New Member

    Okay, okay, I missing something here. I took the link to Columbia Western. Uh--very funny. An opportunity to get a degree from a degree mill before it is too late! What an effort to set-up the website. It IS a joke, right?

  14. Pete

    Pete New Member

    A quote from the order form:

    "Those familar with the massive litigation and the ABC televison special involving Columbia State University will appreciate the history and the value of this offering. The plates will be destroyed after one
    thousand printings."

  15. John Bear

    John Bear Senior Member

    Regarding Columbia State, et al, Jeffrey Levine wrote, <<Okay, okay, I missing something here...It IS a joke, right?>>>

    If only. When 60 Minutes did an episode years ago exposing a blatant fraud, California Pacifica University (Mike Wallace bought a Ph.D. for $3,000 live, on camera), after the program, they told me they got more than 800 phone calls from people who wanted the address and phone number of California Pacifica.

    Here at P.T. Barnum University, we've always felt that . . . oh, never mind.

    John Bear http://www.degree.net
  16. Bill Highsmith

    Bill Highsmith New Member

    I wasn't certain from the vague text whether the $3000 was per course or per degree for the online program. If the latter, I would guess that the $37K/yr figure had two purposes: to discourage anyone from applying for the contemplative but sadly unavailable residential program and to make the $3000 online degree look like such-a-deal that you couldn't resist. My only reason for thinking this is that it doesn't seem possible that they could hope to soak anyone for $36K for a 12-course MS/MA.

    Bill Highsmith
  17. Rich Douglas

    Rich Douglas Well-Known Member


    I found the following interesting: "Applicants must be at least 15 years of age and have graduated from an accredited or approved high school with a minimum unweighted grade point average of 4.0 on a 4.0 scale." Gee, one B on physical education and you're out of luck.

    Bill Highsmith[/B][/QUOTE]

    Maybe they'll let you in if you drop and give 'em 20!

    Rich Douglas, who, as a military training officer, dropped quite a few.
  18. Eva

    Eva New Member

    if you really really want to amuse yourselves i urged you to visit www.templetonuniversity.org to view Lexington's bigger brother!
  19. Bruce

    Bruce Moderator Staff Member

    That site is virtually identical to Lexington. I guess you can choose which degree mill you would prefer to have "graduated" from.

  20. EvaA

    EvaA New Member

Share This Page