Western American University

Discussion in 'Accreditation Discussions (RA, DETC, state approva' started by ianmoseley, May 12, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ianmoseley

    ianmoseley New Member

    We have a lovla college offering degrees from this body, with no further reference or contact details. Any comments anyone.

    (I have tried searching for this but I do not seem to be able to get an 'exact phrase' search and end up with dozens of irrelevant threads}
  2. decimon

    decimon Well-Known Member

    There's this - http://www.caohwy.com/h/hx414799.htm

    Using this, http://www.teoma.com/ , search engine with <Find this phrase> checked yields more results that I haven't looked at.
  3. decimon

    decimon Well-Known Member

  4. galanga

    galanga New Member

    not in CHEA database

    It's not listed in the CHEA database. Maybe it's really in Elbonia.

  5. Mike Albrecht

    Mike Albrecht New Member

    Ain't Google wonderfull!

    Colleges, Universities, and Professional Schools California 714 Area Code Business Listing
    Western American University
    17500 Red Hill Ave
    Irvine CA 92714

    Western American University (was Univ. of Prof. Studies)

    Dr. Sara Szpektor http://www.amgsun.com/openmind/resume.htm
    "On 1994 Dr. Szpektor moved to the USA, where she completed her doctoral studies in Clinical Psychology at the Western American University, California (1996)."
  6. BillDayson

    BillDayson New Member

    The BPPVE search page can't find it.

    A Google search for "western american university" generated 78 hits. These included listings in the exam results for both the state clinical psychology and MFT exams.

    The September 2003 MFT results show Western American University listed under "approved schools", with a note that it no longer offers an MFT program.

    So my guess is that this is a recently deceased CA-approved psych school.
  7. decimon

    decimon Well-Known Member

    I didn't and don't have time to check on Albright College but that seems to be Burn's alma mater and seems, at a glance, to be legit. If not legit, the DegreeInfo bloodhounds have another trail to sniff. :)
  8. ianmoseley

    ianmoseley New Member

    I did find a few bits and pieces myself, www.wau-edu.com is the web site and very poorly made it is with some pages not completed.

    It is an llc set up in Missouri and may be related to another one we have problems with. Unfortunately the Mo SoS business records only give the agents details ( the Red Hil drive address, seems from Google to be multi office or attorney)
  9. galanga

    galanga New Member

    Here's a little more info.

    IP and domain info:
    Domain Name: WAU-EDU.COM
    Created on............: 8/04/2004 00:00:00
    Expires on............: 7/04/2006 00:00:00
    Record last updated on: 8/04/2004 00:00:00

    Owner, Administrative Contact, Technical Contact, Billing Contact:
    Western American University
    Khalil Chaudhaury (ID00111247)
    1001 Craig Road
    Suite 260
    St Louis, MO 63146
    United States
    Phone: +001.3142365021
    Email: [email protected]


    A mailing address is given here: http://www.wau-edu.com/bba.html as "1001 St. Louis, Missouri, USA" which looks like a partial of the domain registrant's address.

    At that address (including the "suite 260") is the mailing service "Sorkins Directories Inc": see http://www.thecityofstlouis.com/mailing/.

    The entry page's banner image http://www.wau-edu.com/top01.gif shows a pre-9/11 view of lower Manhattan. What jackasses.

  10. ianmoseley

    ianmoseley New Member

    I am waiting for companies house info on the owners of the local college, if the name is the same as the registrant then that will be interesting!
  11. ianmoseley

    ianmoseley New Member

    Follwing a clue in the text I find that the WAU home page is a copy of text on the www.viu.edu (Virginia International University) pages.

    There was some forum controversy about 2 years ago about VIU. Does anyone know anything more recent?
  12. Rich Douglas

    Rich Douglas Well-Known Member

    Um, there was no "controversy." A couple of degree mill shills wanted to make a big deal out of the fact that I taught at VIU for a couple of years. (I mentioned it as an aside in a post or two.) VIU is a classroom-based school that doesn't offer DL degrees. (It has offered a couple of DL courses as an experiment, though.) VIU is not yet accredited. They're licensed in the very difficult state of Virginia, and are preparing an application for national accreditation. I don't know if they'll be successful, but the accreditor has been very upbeat about VIU.

    Bottom line: Irrelevant crud from irrelevant shills. Hardly a "controversy."
  13. Redlyne Racer

    Redlyne Racer member

    There is a lot of crud on this site, but not as much of it comes from mill shills as from the Bear wannabes. Unaccredited CCU is “regarded by many as a degree mill” according to news articles, its degrees “academically meaningless” according to some “experts.” Unaccredited VIU is…what? De facto accredited by virtue of your having cast your mighty shadow on them? “Hypocrisy” might be a more accurate description than “controversy.” You live in a glass house. Perhaps the next government dog and pony show will feature you explaining how you took money from innocent students to teach an academically meaningless class at an unaccredited school regarded by many as a degree mill.
  14. Rich Douglas

    Rich Douglas Well-Known Member

    Mr. "Racer":

    Having an opinion is fine. Disagreeing is fine. But calling me a hypocrite, saying I live in a "glass house," and so forth is a little uncalled for.

    Regarding my "shadow," I think I might have the bona fides to offer an informed opinion, and that opinon might have some gravitas. Who are you? What have you done? Posting under an alias and calling people names is really brave. Excuse me while I choose to dismiss your criticisms on that basis alone. Being criticized by "no one" is the same as not being criticized at all.

    As for a school "many regard as a degree mill," whatever could you mean? Which innocent students have I taken money from?

    As for VIU, it is like any other new, classroom-based school. There is no reason to malign it because it is not yet accredited. Unlike the degree mills (and other, less-than wonderful schools) we talk about here, VIU is simply a new school trying to get accredited. Every new school goes through this. That doesn't make them millish. THERE IS NO OTHER WAY TO BECOME ACCREDITED BESIDES OPERATING AND AWARDING DEGREES. Of course, you know that, so that--plus the tone of your post--indicates this is personal.

    Perhaps you're confusing me with someone who has an unaccredited-equals-mill stance. I do not.

    CCU's degrees are academically meaningless. So are VIU's. That will change if one or the other gains accreditation.

    Thank you for your interest. I look forward to your restraint.
    Last edited by a moderator: May 13, 2004
  15. Bill Huffman

    Bill Huffman Well-Known Member

    While it may be true that CCU has been called a degree mill in some news reports, I believe that it was an unfair characterization. Whether or not I'm correct will hopefully be known soon, if CCU becomes accredited as expected.

    As for the rest of your post, it is either incorrect or just personal attacks. Regarding your attack against DegreeInfo posters in general, it is not a good way to get people to take you seriously.

    P.S. Are you planning on profusely apologizing to Dr. Douglas after VIU is accredited or do you plan to be banned for launching into personal attacks before that can occur?
  16. ianmoseley

    ianmoseley New Member

    Excuse me, can we get back to the subject in question, Western American University?

    I understand that an llc in Missouri needs to have a US based person or corporation avaialble to accept documents. I suspect that the WAU does not, but the relevant branch of the State legislature apparently has not enforcement powers. Who would deal with that?
  17. decimon

    decimon Well-Known Member

    WAU appears to have originated in San Diego but now to be in St. Louis.

    You might think they'd show the Arch but instead have a none-too-clear picture of lower Manhattan that includes the WTC and has the Brooklyn Bridge(?) coming from Jersey City (reversed photo).

    Ms. Price could be key. Was she duped?
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2004
  18. decimon

    decimon Well-Known Member

    As of 2000:

    [q]...Bonnie Burns Price, manager of Curriculum and Instructional Services.[/q]

  19. uncle janko

    uncle janko member

    Hi Decimon: Yes, Albright College is legit, RA, etc., affiliated with the United Methodist Church, which absorbed Albright's parent denomination, the E.U.B. Church, in 1968.
  20. oxpecker

    oxpecker New Member

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page