U N I V E R S I T Y D I P L O M A S - exciting stuff

Discussion in 'General Distance Learning Discussions' started by Randell1234, Apr 10, 2002.

  1. me again

    me again Well-Known Member

    Hi Homer,

    I live in Florida. I once posted a link on a thread on DegreeInfo to that particular misdemeanor and, if you'd like, I guess I can dig it up again. It took me a while to find it the last time.

    Let me know if you need it....
  2. Homer

    Homer New Member

    Hi Art,

    .....sort of embarassing since I was recently admitted to The Florida Bar. Anyway, the statute (in pertinent part) is reproduced below.

    817.567 Making false claims of academic degree or title.--

    (1) No person in the state may claim, either orally or in writing, to possess an academic degree, as defined in s. 246.021, or the title associated with said degree, unless the person has, in fact, been awarded said degree from an institution that is:

    (a) Accredited by a regional or professional accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of Education or the Commission on Recognition of Postsecondary Accreditation;

    (b) Provided, operated, and supported by a state government or any of its political subdivisions or by the Federal Government;

    (c) A school, institute, college, or university chartered outside the United States, the academic degree from which has been validated by an accrediting agency approved by the United States Department of Education as equivalent to the baccalaureate or postbaccalaureate degree conferred by a regionally accredited college or university in the United States;

    (d) Licensed by the State Board of Independent Colleges and Universities pursuant to ss. 246.011-246.151 or exempt from licensure pursuant to s. 246.085; or

    (e) A religious seminary, institute, college, or university which offers only educational programs that prepare students for a religious vocation, career, occupation, profession, or lifework, and the nomenclature of whose certificates, diplomas, or degrees clearly identifies the religious character of the educational program.
  3. Bill Huffman

    Bill Huffman Well-Known Member

    But what that reference doesn't mention is that the Florida Supreme Court ruled that the law was unconstitutional because it went too far since there are real unaccredited schools that people have earned degrees at and they need to be allowed to claim those earned degrees. Source is Bear's Guide and numerous on-line disscussions.

    Being a lawyer you'll probably next ask me for a reference to the ruling, but since I'm not a lawyer, sorry.
  4. Homer

    Homer New Member

    Actually, I believe I located the cite but the action appears to have been filed in federal court (F. Supp.), not the Florida Supreme Court. Regardless, you're correct; it seems the court felt the statute was too broad because it prohibited those with a non-accredited degree from claiming they had any degree whatsoever rather than simply requiring them to disclose that their degree was from a non-accredited institution.

    FWIW, I don't believe the statute has been rewritten to reflect the court decision.
  5. me again

    me again Well-Known Member

    No biggie. I don't think we'll be seeing any arrests any time soon, at least not on that charge! ;)
  6. MarkIsrael@aol.com

    [email protected] New Member

    BGossett wrote:

    > Carlingford University
    > How they snuck that one by Educause is beyond me. The
    > registration details indicate that ALEC's relationship with
    > Carlingford might be somewhat tighter than 'representative'.

    How do you retrieve the registration details? http://www.whois.net refers me to http://whois.melbourneit.com, which doesn't accept ".edu" domains.
  7. ianmoseley

    ianmoseley New Member

    The address given by Carlingford is a multiple/virtual office. I have not yet tried to trace the servers but I suspect they will turn out to be in the USof A

    To see who they share with put the postcode (in inverted commas) into google.
  8. g-gollin

    g-gollin New Member

    That's really the University of Illinois campus

    The Carlingford University home page shows a photo of the Beckman Institute of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, probably viewed from the Grainger Library. Here is a small photo of Beckman from the UIUC web site. I'll let our legal counsel's office know after I post this.

    Nervy folks, I'd say. They are claiming a copyright, too!

  9. oxpecker

    oxpecker New Member

    So the architect of the Illinois building ripped off the Carlingford design? Disgraceful.
  10. EmilyM

    EmilyM New Member

    After reading all of the research this group has done, I also became curious.

    www.carlingford.edu = IP
    www.aleconline.org = IP

    For most of the links at the Carlingford site, it remains at carlingford.edu but if you go to their "Courses of Study" link, it takes you directly to the aleconline.org site. Hit their "Overseas Studies" link and it takes you to www.ti.edu (coincidentally, also with an IP of

    I tried running a tracert to get a specific location of that IP but no matter what I try, I keep getting bounced between two spots in Australia ( and - both list to be with pacific.net.au which is an Australian internet provider). Keeping in mind also that you can register a domain for a country you do not reside in, and perhaps this provider takes foreign accounts, I'm not entirely certain how that might help.

    That's as far as my limited techie knowledge gets me but thought I'd drop that little bit into the pot.
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 10, 2004
  11. MarkIsrael@aol.com

    [email protected] New Member

  12. EmilyM

    EmilyM New Member

    Sorry to double-post but thought I'd butt in again. Given the IPs are the same, I visited the http://whois.melbourneit.com and just entered aleconline.org. Looks like their provider is that Pacific.net.au and depending on Australian laws (which I'm not at all familiar with), the Aussies might have an interest in this, possibly for fraud or misrepresentation, or some random internet charge. The Athens, GR address shows there also for their registration and gives a street address. Here's what came up:

    Domain ID D52929098-LROR
    Domain Name ALECONLINE.ORG
    Created On 21-Jan-2001 16:25:59 UTC
    Last Updated On 22-Sep-2003 15:17:07 UTC
    Expiration Date 21-Jan-2011 16:25:59 UTC


    Sponsoring Registrar R63-LROR
    Status OK


    Registrant ID 5555251-NSI
    Registrant Name Applied Learning Evaluation Ce
    Registrant Organization Applied Learning Evaluation Ce
    Registrant Street1 Voulis 30
    Registrant Street2 **
    Registrant City Athens
    Registrant State/Province Athens
    Registrant Postal Code 10557
    Registrant Country GR
    Registrant Email [email protected]


    Admin ID 17189534-NSI
    Admin Name Applied Learning
    Admin Organization Applied Learning
    Admin Street1 Voulis 30
    Admin City Athens
    Admin State/Province Athens
    Admin Postal Code 1 0557
    Admin Country GR
    Admin Email [email protected]
    Tech ID 18131133-NSI
    Tech Name ALEC
    Tech Organization ALEC
    Tech Street1 30
    Tech City Voulis
    Tech State/Province Athens
    Tech Postal Code 10527
    Tech Country GR
    Tech Email [email protected]
  13. ianmoseley

    ianmoseley New Member

    Looks like Carlingford has been taken off-line.

    www.carlingford.edu is giving a 504 error and seems untraceable

    ALEC is still around and also refewrs to Midwestern University
  14. Kizmet

    Kizmet Moderator

    DegreeInfo Spammers 101
    In the syllabus of this course this lesson is lesson #3 - How to spot a spammer
    A newbie member digs up an old post and tacks on a nothing comment. Once the spammer has accumulated enough vacuous posts (look at her posting history) she then adds a link into her sig line thus turning all of her posts into advertising.
    Result: newbie spammer banned.
    This is a not-for-credit course but if you help us identify these spammers it's greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2013
  15. SurfDoctor

    SurfDoctor Moderator

    Well, at least they are honest about being "non-accredited." That beats the heck out of people who create their own bogus accrediting body to accredit their own schools.

    I tried dialing 1 - 6 1 7 - 8 4 8 - XXXX but I couldn't find the "X" part on my phone. :smile:
  16. SurfDoctor

    SurfDoctor Moderator

  17. Randell1234

    Randell1234 Moderator

    It is next to the ZZZZ
  18. Maniac Craniac

    Maniac Craniac Moderator Staff Member

    Holy Educated Derelict, Batman! This thread is a time capsule!

    How old is it? The thread was started TWO MONTHS before I got my first college credits and has now been awakened ONE MONTH after I finished my Bachelor's degree.

    How old is it?! The thread was posted FOUR MONTHS before I got my first job and awakened THREE MONTHS after I quit my 13th and returned to freelancing.

    How old is it?! When this thread was started, I WAS MONOLINGUAL.
  19. Ted Heiks

    Ted Heiks Moderator and Distinguished Senior Member

    Holy bat shit, Batman! This thread was started eleven years ago ... and that was five years before I even knew that this board exists!
  20. Kizmet

    Kizmet Moderator

    All I know is that both MC and Ted are staying up Waaay too late again. Go to sleep guys!

Share This Page