PhD by Dissertation from Japan

Discussion in 'General Distance Learning Discussions' started by dbadribbler, Jun 30, 2021.

  1. dbadribbler

    dbadribbler New Member

    This programme has been around since 1978, but I just learned about it today. Interesting format.

    The aim of JSPS RONPAKU (Dissertation PhD) Program is to provide tutorial and financial support for promising researchers in Asia and Africa or other specified countries who wish to obtain their Ph.D. degrees from Japanese universities through the submission of a dissertation without matriculating a doctoral course. This program is implemented in cooperation with JSPS's overseas nominating organizations in Asia and Africa.
  2. datby98

    datby98 Member

    Interesting finding!

    The students then have at least three years to complete their dissertations without regular courses in Japan.
    "RONPAKU fellows are required to visit a Japanese university to conduct research under the direct supervision of their advisor in Japan."

    "Candidates must be a researcher whose university/institution is located in one of the following countries and areas among all those listed as Japanese ODA recipients: ASIA (including the Middle East) Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkey, Vietnam, and Yemen AFRICA Algeria, Angora, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Eswatini, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of Cabo Verde, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe NIS countries Azerbaijan, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz, Georgia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan."
    Dustin likes this.

Share This Page