"Approved" in AL, Operated from FL

Discussion in 'Accreditation Discussions (RA, DETC, state approva' started by italiansupernova, Dec 26, 2003.

  1. italiansupernova

    italiansupernova New Member

    Our good friends at Barrington, who proudly proclaim their Alabama approval apparently operate from Florida.

    According to http://whois.educause.net/edudomain/whois.asp the address barrington.edu is registered to:

    Domain Name: BARRINGTON.EDU

    Barrington University
    6421 Congress Ave
    Boca Raton, FL 33487


    Administrative Contact:
    STEVEN Bettinger
    2198 NW 57 St.
    BOCA RATON, FL 33496
    (561) 988-1314
    [email protected]

    Technical Contact:
    6421 NCongress Ave
    BOCA RATON, FL 33487
    (561) 994-4446
    [email protected]

    Name Servers:

    Domain record activated: 05-Jan-1996
    Domain record last updated: 14-Jan-2003

    Now, about their address: I found that kidscamps.com is run from 6421 N Congress Ave. #200 Boca Raton. Which means they're most likely neighbors with Barrington. Kidscamps.com's listed phone number at that address is 561-443-2924. I would call them myself, but since I'm not an "authority figure" on DL, I wouldn't exactly now how to explain to these people why I was calling.

    Any takers, replies, etc?
  2. Bill Huffman

    Bill Huffman Well-Known Member

    It is interesting that kidscamps.com apparently has a suite/POBox address of 200 and Barrington is 201. Is there any other indication that they are related?
  3. italiansupernova

    italiansupernova New Member

    Here's an interesting tidbit: When I looked up Steven Bettinger's (Barrington's POC) address on Yahoo! maps this response was yielded:
    Your search for 2198 Nw 57 St in Boca Raton, FL 33496-3458 could not be found.

    Bill, as far as whether or not they are related, I've yet to discover, BUT here's what I've discovered so far. When I check to see who registered kidscamps.com, via register.com, absolutely no information appeared. That troubles me considering it's a kids camp. Oddly enough, though, at the same street address as kidscamps.com is grownupcamps.com.

    On top of that, at the same address as both kidscamps and grownupcamps.com is Niche Directories, LLC. http://www.nichedirectories.com/ Which is, in their own words, "A Full Service Web Presence Provider & Internet Marketing Company". Now my question is, could Niche Directories, be the "web presence provider" or the marketing company for Barrington? One can only wonder for now.

    The search continues........
  4. italiansupernova

    italiansupernova New Member

    .... and here's something else.........

    Since Barrington is apparently "owned" by Virtualacademics.com I looked to see who THAT domain name was registered to. Now, to no surprise we see Steve Bettinger again, but the strange thing is that his contact e-mail is *something*[email protected] One look at cenuco.com reveals: "Cenuco offers end-to-end wireless solutions that integrate with already developed infrastructures as well new standalone solutions that are proprietary to Cenuco." Who is cenuco.com registered to? If you guessed Steve Bettinger you guessed correctly. Technical contact is Virtual Academics.

    To summarize: a university, an "e-learning solutions company", a lah, Virtual Academics, AND a wireless solutions company are run from the same suite neighboring a marketing firm/camp for kids/camp for grownups.
  5. italiansupernova

    italiansupernova New Member

    ... one more thing to add...

    According to a Form 10KSB/A published on yahoo (link provided below) on Cenuco Inc., they do, in fact, claim to own Barrington U.
    See for yourself (the article about Barrington is contained in the third paragraph): http://biz.yahoo.com/e/030408/cnuo.ob10ksb_a.html

    "We operate in two reportable business segments - (1) the online distance learning industry, and (2) the development and sales of wireless solutions and web services."


    Year Ended June 30, 2002 compared to Year Ended June 30, 2001

    Online Distance Learning Segment


    For Fiscal 2002, we had a 9.8% increase in earned revenues to $2,889,579 from $2,632,037 for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2001("Fiscal 2001").

    Barrington raked in damn near 3 million dollars!:eek:
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 26, 2003
  6. italiansupernova

    italiansupernova New Member

    No comments, etc???
  7. manjuap

    manjuap New Member

    In one of the conversations long back.. i was told that Barrington would apply for RA by the end of Dec 2002. I think with the money rolling in .. they might now apply for one.

Share This Page