+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Lukeness is offline Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Port Alfred, South Africa
    Posts
    136

    Marco Polo International University

    Has anyone had experience with them?
    Is this legit or a mill?

    http://www.marcopolo-u-edu.org/index.php

  2. #2
    sentinel is offline Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,745
    The following is most certainly a red flag about the legitimacy of the post-secondary institution.

    Does a college or university have to be accredited to be legitimate?

    "Lay persons and professionals alike [in some countries] have been brainwashed to think that to have a legitimate college or university degree, it must be accredited. The average person and most professionals....believe or have been told throughout the years, that accreditation equals a legitimate degree. This is not true. In fact, ["in accreditation countries"] it takes four years for a college to become accredited, making it technically impossible to disallow unaccredited schools. With this mindset, no new college or university could ever open."
    Quotation from Richard J. Hoyer, PhD, MD, EdD, MS, BS, BA. **Dr. Hoyer is the North American Educational Accreditation Commissioner for the Educational Quality Accreditation Commission and Chief Educational Accreditation Commissioner for the Accreditation Governing Commission of the United States.
    - quote from the website FAQ section
    BA - Thomas Edison State College
    LLB - University of London (in-progress)
    MFS - National University (start 2012)

  3. #3
    BlueMason is offline Audaces fortuna juvat
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Maritimes, Canada
    Posts
    1,063
    ..not to mention the domain name in and by itself "www.marcopolo-u-edu.org" is a hint; it was created in April of 2008... hands off.
    "If a man empties his purse into his head, no man can take it away from him. An investment in knowledge always pays the best interest."
    - Ben Franklin

  4. #4
    John Bear is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern California.
    Posts
    5,299
    Website registered to Lizka Villalobos, mailing address in Doral, Florida; telephone and fax in Minnesota. (FWIW, the Dean expected a PhD from Capella University , Minnesota, in Feb. 2009)

    No specific accreditation claim, but say they offer "accreditation compliant learning programs"

    Academic model is based on the work of "Professor Jeffrey Pfeffer, University of California , Stanford"

    Degrees available in over 100 subjects, but only five faculty are listed.

    Hoyer has been involved with more than one dubious institution.

  5. #5
    Dave Wagner is offline Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Silicon Valley, California, USA
    Posts
    2,354
    Quote Originally Posted by sentinel View Post
    The following is most certainly a red flag about the legitimacy of the post-secondary institution.

    - quote from the website FAQ section[/I]
    [/I]
    I couldn't get the website to load, so I can't read the context of the statement challenging general equivocation of accreditation and legitimacy... However, it sure seems suspicious to start a discussion about legitimacy, if you are truly legitimate. Just say this, if true, "This institution is not accredited by any recognized accrediting organization; however, our degrees are designed to meet quality standards in their respective disciplines and appropriate accreditation is our goal."
    Dave Wagner

    twitter.com/wagnerdave/

  6. #6
    BillDayson is offline Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    5,625
    There are several pages on the Marco Polo website that attack accreditation in general and American regional accreditation in particular. Richard Hoyer is quoted several times.

    Here's a colorful essay entitled "Revealed: The True History of Accreditation!"

    http://www.marcopolo-u-edu.org/MPIU-...filiations.php

    Their comparison chart between themselves and regionally accredited schools is interesting too.

    http://www.marcopolo-u-edu.org/about...comparison.php

    It's odd that an ostensibly Panamanian university would take such passionate interest in and be so hostile towards accreditation up in the United States.

    Marco Polo University tells us that it's physically based in Suite 2008 on the 20'th floor of the Century Tower, an impressive office building in Panama City Panama.

    But it seems that a number of different businesses are operating out of that same suite. In particular, suite 2008 is home to something called Soverign Management and Legal

    http://www.the-business-list.com/detail/6772.htm

    which sells asset protection, privacy and tax reduction services and assists setting up and doing business in Panama, both physically and virtually.

    So my guess is that Marco Polo University's grand Panamanian domicile might just be an offshore business registration.

    On its accreditation revelation page, Marco Polo tells us

    At Marco Polo University, we have studied the accreditation issue and determined that it is in the best interest of our students to pursue independent accreditation like so many other great universities have, such as Harvard, Yale, and Princeton during the first several hundred years of their existence. Our independent accreditation is earned by performance...
    As for evidence of performance, Google Scholar has never heard of Marco Polo International University, so no scholarly authors are using it as their institutional affiliation.

    MPIU only generated four .edu hits on Google. None of them were of an academic nature. Two were lists of registered Moodle users.

    The other two hits were a bit more worrying. It seems that a Texas executive search firm has delivered a short-list of nine candidates to the Florida Board of Governors for the position of Chancellor of the Florida state higher education system. One of those candidates is listed as acting President of Marco Polo International University.

    http://www.flbog.edu/pressroom/newsc...il.php?id=5350

  7. #7
    cookderosa is offline Resident Chef
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,248
    Marco.....
    Jennifer

  8. Advertisement
    Need Help Finding Your Degree Program?

  9. #8
    DSB
    DSB is offline Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    10
    Polo.
    Sorry, I couldn't resist. ;)
    [B][FONT="Times New Roman"][SIZE="4"]Scott[/SIZE][/FONT][/B]

    _____________________________________________
    [I][B]"From the ashes....We rise!"[/B][/I]
    BA, Marshall University
    MSHR, Troy University

  10. #9
    cookderosa is offline Resident Chef
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    2,248
    Quote Originally Posted by DSB View Post
    Polo.
    Sorry, I couldn't resist. ;)
    >>

    LOL thanks for playing :)
    Jennifer

  11. #10
    Chip is offline Administrator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,130
    Looks like their website is full of classic millspeak to me. And anything associated with Richard Hoyer should be about as immediate a red flag as anything associated with Ronald Pellar, Les Snell, Maxine Asher or any of the other dozens of unwonderful school proprietors.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts




1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157